cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Pay off full student loan balance ($4.2k), or continue to make $480 payment per month?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Pay off full student loan balance ($4.2k), or continue to make $480 payment per month?

The answer to this question almost seems like a no-brainer, but I figure I'll ask you guys anyway.

I'm currently paying back  at $480/month ($400 over minimum) a small student loan balance of $4.2k from when I graduated in 2011. I'm an engineer and currently make $50k/year, and have $12k sitting in a checking account making 1% interest. I was originally not paying off the loan to boost up my credit portfolio, but I now have a pretty good score + cards, and can garden if my score takes a hit.

Should I pay it off in full? I'm thinking I should.

Any other investment options? I was leaving the money in the checking account because I was lazy and didn't want to make any bad decisions with my money.

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
SCF
Valued Contributor

Re: Pay off full student loan balance ($4.2k), or continue to make $480 payment per month?

I'd say pay off the loan.  Paying it off probably won't impact your score much either direction, but the good history from the account will remain for about 10 years (and in the interim, you'll hopefully build history with other accounts to replace it when it finally does fall off your report).  In terms of a financial decision, you'll save a good amount on interest depending on your rate.  You'll also never be at risk of missing a payment (due to forgetfulness, error or anything else) and have one less thing to worry about each month.

It sounds like you'll still have plenty of money left on-hand for an emergency afterward, so I would just pay it off.

Message 2 of 6
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Pay off full student loan balance ($4.2k), or continue to make $480 payment per month?

@SCF wrote: