Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SL REHAB No hold on transcripts?

tag
BNA111
Valued Member

SL REHAB No hold on transcripts?

I am fairly new in this student loan thread, but after reading multiple threads.. I've finally gotten the courage to post a question and take steps to fixing my student loans. 

Long story short, I received a student loan ($5000) through my school's FinAid that would cover my Spring2016 semester. I was taking some classes as a part time student and dropped a one credit course. This resulted in FinAid reducing my student loan amount b/c I did not qualify as part time anymore. I understood that portion.  

During that time, I used the rest of my loan money ($1700) for a laptop and a important entrance exam fee for professional school.The following week, my school dropped my classes and I was no longer able to attend. My FinAid said I owed them that $1700 and need to pay them back. At the time I wasn't working because I was studying for an entrance exam. I ended up not paying the school thinking I can pay them back as soon as I get a job after my test. What I thought was a genius plan at the time.... totally BACKFIRED on me. I check my school account and it indicated that my student loan was sent to collections! 

I wasn't even aware that it was sent to collections until I received one random letter in the mail from a CA. I thought it was odd that the balance I owed was $1700 and now that it was sent to collections.. the balance owed is $5000+. Can the interest rates increase that much ?!?! 

Now I'm in a dilemma.. my school cannot send my transcripts out to professional school until my loans have been paid for. Application cycle for the professional school I want to get into opens this June. 

does anyone have any solid advice for me??? I am new to this and would appreciate any help or wisdom.