cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sallie Mae ruined my credit!

tag
AlexTheSquid

Sallie Mae ruined my credit!

The title is very vague - but bear with me as I try to explain it all. These days I am totally debt free, active duty military, and saved up enough money to finally afford to buy a nice house for my fiancee and I in the Virginia Beach area. Except, my FICO scores of 525 are keeping me from getting a mortgage. Why? Because Sallie Mae improperly (and nearly criminally) handled my loans back a few years ago. Here's a good timeline of events (mostly compiled now that I checked NSLDS):

8/8/08 - Was laid off from my job, had to live on friends' couches to avoid being homeless. I had been making payments for 4-5 months on my loans since then, after deferment ended.

Around 9/15/08 - Call Sallie Mae and tell them I am unemployed, ask for forbearance. They agree after taking a ~$100 payment that I really couldn't afford to give them. They don't put ALL loans on forbearance, and miss 2 loans totaling ~$4500.

2/15/09 - Fly out to California to live with some friends and do some job hunting, as the state of MA was totally trashed in ways of jobs and economy. Military recruiting east of the Mississippi was dried up as well.

7/02/09 - Approved for enlistment into the Navy, set to ship out ASAP.

8/15/09 timeframe - Apparently Sallie Mae moves all my loans out of forbearance and never call/email/write to say so, and never mentioned it in previous calls.

9/10/09 - Officially active duty and step foot into Great Lakes, IL boot camp.

9/27/10 - ALL loans move into default, again no email or written contact.

10/02/10 - Deploy overseas immediately

12/10/10 - Learn all loans are in default after spending hours to secure a phone call from overseas. Sallie Mae rep hears I am deployed and apologizes profusely. I email proof of deployment and loans have some interest and all collection fees reversed. I shell out ~22,000 in a single check.