Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Should I consolidate SLs?

tag
BIFM
Established Member

Should I consolidate SLs?

Hey all, I'm in somewhat of a predicament here on whether or not I should decide to consolidate my student loans (or which ones to consolidate).. 

I graduated in May and currently have 9 SL accounts outstanding (paid off 2 in last 3 months, 3rd will be finished this month), so that leaves 8 accounts that will be active at the end of the month.  My question is, is it worth it to consolidate some/all of the loans in order to reduce the number of accounts on my CR given the balances/interest rates I currently have? 

I'm concerned that even though it may bump my credit score up, consolidation will drastically increase the amount of interest I end up paying over the life of the loans even if I still pay it off in the same amount of time simply due to the fact that I can't pay off the higher interest rate loans earlier than the lower rates..  My current EQ FICO is 691, but should be higher once my next revolving balance gets reported (had high util last month at 29%, will be down to 7%)... would lowering the amount of accounts have any significant impact on my score?

If so, should I just consolidate a portion of the loans? Which do you think would be in my best interest to include in the consolidation given the accounts I have?  Right now my priority is getting rid of the 6.55% loans so I wouldn't include them in the consolidation in order to get them paid off ASAP..

Thank you in advance for anyone who takes the time to reply to this..I know it's a lot of info/questions =/

Outstanding balances:

1. Subsidized Direct - $4,942.41 @ 3.15%

2. Subsidized Direct - 5,380.18 @ 4.25%

3. Subsidized Direct - 2,168.94 @ 5.35%

4. Subsidized Direct - 2,168.94 @ 5.35%

5. Subsidized Direct - 963.98 @ 5.35%  

6. Subsidized Direct - 3,414.06@ 5.75%
7. Subsidized Direct - 3,403.06 @ 6.55%