cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Student Loan Goodwill Letter Advice!!!!!!

tag
primandproper
Established Member

Student Loan Goodwill Letter Advice!!!!!!

I need some feedback on this Goodwill letter I am about to send to my student loans. I have combined a few of the goodwill letters from here.

To Whom It May Concern:

From 2003 until 2004, I attended High Tech Institute. I graduated with Associate’s degrees in Medical Assisting. I am extremely grateful to SLFC for providing me the financial means to earn my degree.

The reason that I am writing is to see if you would be willing to make a "goodwill" adjustment to your reporting to Transunion, Equifax and Experian credit reporting agencies with regard to account number 99999549*** (this partial account number was pulled directly from my Experian credit report). I have late payments on the above referenced account that date back to 2006 and 2007.  At the time of the late payments, I was in a period of unemployment. This period of unemployment necessitated my two-year hiatus from school and put my loan into repayment status, which is why the late payments occurred. I also gave birth to my child. I was not educated on the fact that I could put the loans in deferment due to financial hardship. At that time my loans went into default but I was able to rehab them back into good standing.  I say that not to justify why the payments were late, but rather to show that the late payments are not a good indicator of my actual credit worthiness.