Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Student Loan Rehab Nightmare

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Student Loan Rehab Nightmare

Hi Everyone, I have been reading through the forums here and just recently decided to open an account- I'm a newbie but wanted to share my experience with student loan rehab. 

I had student loans from 2005-2007 which I defaulted on with Wachovia, they were Federal. I successfully completed my student loan rehabilitation in 2011. I am currently in school, so these loans which were transferred to NelNet are in good standing, and I continue to pay monthly even though they are deferred. 

In my quest to rebuild my credit, as many of you-- I was irresponsible and unknowledgable with credit in my early 20's- I pulled all three CRs. And this is when the nightmare started...

Since Wachovia had been bought by Wells Fargo years ago-- Wachovia had transferred my loans to ACS. Once I completed my rehabilitation, although any negative collection reporting was removed and Nelnet shows the loans in good standing, ACS/Wachovia was still reporting my loans as past due over 120+ days.....

When I contacted ACS directly, hey had no record of my loans but figured that during the buying of Wachovia, all loans were transferred to Wells Fargo...when I called Wells Fargo, they either had any information on the loans. I disputed the negative marks on my CRs and all the loans were verified. What's worse....on EX and EQ the Wachovia loans were reporting from ACS/Wachovia AND Wells Fargo- Wells Fargo and "consolidated" some of the loan amounts into one loan and thus, reports on my CR were duplicate, with wrong balances and killing my score. Since Wells Fargo couldnt find any loans other than a private one in their system or archives-- I couldn't even correct the numbers they were reporting in hopes they would align with ACS balances so that I could file for deletion based on duplication.