cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Student loans opened by my father have dropped my score!!!

tag
username09

Student loans opened by my father have dropped my score!!!

About 2 years ago now I paid off all of my debt and after doing so my credit score has slowly crept up to a respectable number of 700. I monitor my credit regularly as even thought I have zero debt I love watching what my hard work has done and am glad when I see it creeping upward every month or so. I'm also very aware of my score as I am looking at purchasing my first home very soon! (currently looking for the right one)...

About a month ago I received a credit alert and found that my score had dropped drastically to 624, just over 75 points! I checked over my score and found two 'SLC Student Loan Trust' accounts that were delinquent. I called the creditor to find that these were two student loans which my father had opened 5+ years ago using my social security number. I graduated college in January of 2005 so I'm guessing that he re-financed my original student loans with these. Either way, recently my father is having his own credit issues (he is filing for bankrupcy) and now these two student loan accounts have hurt my score considerably. I was never aware of these two accounts at all as me and my father are not on very good terms and these were being mailed to his po box which is 50+ miles away from me. I paid an ammount on these two loans just to bring them current so as to stop continuos negative damage. I just called equifax and started an investigation but from my conversation with them it didn't seem like this was going to really do anything for me at all. What should I do??? I did not open these two accounts and they have hurt my score!

Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
MarineVietVet
Moderator Emeritus

Re: Student loans opened by my father have dropped my score!!!