cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

US DoE Loans showing up on TransUnion - Should be consolidated!

tag
mgm4g5

US DoE Loans showing up on TransUnion - Should be consolidated!

Hey all,

I'm a little worried about 2 US DoE loans showing up on my TransUnion credit report. They are from Sept 2008 and Jan 2009, though both have a "Status as of" date of Jan 2009.

Since I graduated May 2012, I had all of my government loans consolidated. Equifax and Experian do not show these two loans, but TransUnion still does... I'm worried because -- what if these loans are still out there and I'm not paying on them??

I called the number on the TransUnion report and got to the US Department of Education. Through their automated system, it verified that all of my loans have "paid in full" status. If this is the case, why are they still showing up on TransUnion reports?

Also, I'm in the middle of trying to buy a house so this really scares me.

On my report, this is how the loans show up:

U.S. Dept Of Ed - Direct

Status as of: Jan, 2009
Date opened: Sep, 2008
Account number: XXXXXX5122
Loan type: Student Loan
Largest past balance: $2,000
Account Type: Installment Account
Account holder: Individual Account
Scheduled Payment Amount: $50
Industry: Government

Descriptions: Student loan not in repayment

Balance: $2,000

Current Status: Unrated

U.S. Dept Of Ed - Direct

Status as of: Jan, 2009
Date opened: Jan, 2009
Account number: XXXXXX5123
Loan type: Student Loan
Largest past balance: $2,457
Account Type: Installment Account
Account holder: Individual Account
Scheduled Payment Amount: $50
Industry: Government
Descriptions:  Student loan not in repayment

Balance: $2,457

Current Status: Unrated

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
kjel
Established Contributor

Re: US DoE Loans showing up on TransUnion - Should be consolidated!