cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What to Focus on Paying Off First? CC or SL?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

What to Focus on Paying Off First? CC or SL?

Hi,

I am a college grad with lots of debt from school. The majority of my debt is in student loans, but I do have some credit card debt also. I am currently repaying my student loans. My grace period ended two months ago. My question is that I have a few hundred dollars every month to pay in addition to the minimum payments on my debt so which should I focus on paying off first? The accounts in question are a credit card with a balance of about $3,100 and an APR of 5.15% and a federal student loan with a balance of about $22,000 and an interest rate of 6.5%. As it is now, I pay more than $100 in interest on the student loan per month and less than $20 per month in interest on the credit card. My instinct is to pay down the student loan more quickly because I'm losing much more money on it in interest. Is my thinking flawed? Is there any benefit to paying off the credit card first? The balance on the credit card is less than 50% of my limit. I'm also not terribly concerned about my FICO score right now, but I would like a new car sometime in the future. The last time I checked my FICO score I believe it was 711, which was summer of 2009. 

I have seen this topic similarly posted here before, but with these balance and interest rates, I wanted to get some advice. Thank you!

Message Edited by laura545 on 02-03-2010 02:16 PM
Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
Regular Contributor

Re: What to Focus on Paying Off First? CC or SL?

I'm no expert, but I know that you do get to claim your student loan interest on your taxes (up to $2500 I believe), so that's certainly a benefit over the credit card.

Starting Score: 703
Current Score: 7/8/10: TU - 738 EQ - 750
Previous Score: 1/22/10: TU - 703 EQ - 714
Goal Score: 750

Take the FICO Fitness Challenge
Message 2 of 5
SCF
Valued Contributor