cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

When to apply for Private Student Loan?

tag
MarineVietVet
Moderator Emeritus

Re: When to apply for Private Student Loan?

I believe the question by the OP has been answered.

Message 11 of 16
Pat94108
Frequent Contributor

Not sure why some felt the need to give the OP opinions about what he should or should not do, at the end of the day he didn't share what his situation was or how much money he was going to borrow etc. Private loans don't have the best repayment terms, but many have managed to repay them. 

Personally, OP, I only had one private loan when I was a student, but it was a small one and I remember applying for it through my school after the semester had already begun. I got the money pretty fast, within a week or so, but it was many years ago and, again, the loan wasn't large (as a matter of fact I paid it off before I even graduated while working a side job).  

I hope that can help even a little bit. 

EDIT: I'd recommend maybe inquiring and applying a month or so before to be on the safe side, but it will also depends what you're using the money for. Books, tuition etc? That could also determine when to apply for it. In my case, the money wasn't spend on tuition, but other school related expenses so I didn't need the money at the beginning of the semester. 

Message 12 of 16
Anonymous
Not applicable

Some university financial aid offices provide suggested lender options.  I recommend researching the vendors as soon as possible.  Some private loans are designed to cover previous semester charges.  For example, say you CURRENTLY have a balance from the PREVIOUS semester; a company like Sallie Mae may allow a private loan to cover that previous semester balance.