Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

paying before graduation

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

paying before graduation

I'm a freshman in college and have zero credit history. My question is if I pay 25-50 a month toward the student loans I took out will it start to give me a score? and if so how long will that take to report?  
Message 1 of 9
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: paying before graduation

Thanks for all the information.  I had no idea that the subsidized interest payments would show up on my credit report.  I hope to pay off the majority of the unsubsidized loan with our tax return and next year I won't have to take one out because I should qualify for in-state tuition because of marrying a resident.  Got my fingers crossed that that works out as planned.
Message 8 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

Im not completely sure about the credit score thing until you answer some questions.

1) Private or government student loan?

2) and if government SL was it subsudizied or unsubsudized ? Im sure I spelled that wrong... lol.... (all that college and I still cant spell!... its my weakness.. lol.)

Message 2 of 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

Right now I have 3500 in federal subsidized loans and 6000 in unsubsidized.
Message 3 of 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

From my experience and understanding is this: