Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

"good" vs. "bad" debt...

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

"good" vs. "bad" debt...

I'm a grad student trying to boost my credit score. I have a bit of credit card debt left over from some leaner times, I've been paying off far more than the minimum and always on time but am wondering if it would be unwise to use student loan money to just pay off the whole card (after paying tuition, of course). I know moving debt around isn't generally a good idea but is it better to owe a couple thousand more on a student loan and have no credit card debt? Thoughts?
Message 1 of 11
10 REPLIES 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: "good" vs. "bad" debt...

While this would/could increase your credit score- 

It would drag the length of payments out to YEARS- and could very well cost more $-
I would get a plan together to get the revolving debt paid off in X time-

learningthegame wrote:
I'm a grad student trying to boost my credit score. I have a bit of credit card debt left over from some leaner times, I've been paying off far more than the minimum and always on time but am wondering if it would be unwise to use student loan money to just pay off the whole card (after paying tuition, of course). I know moving debt around isn't generally a good idea but is it better to owe a couple thousand more on a student loan and have no credit card debt? Thoughts?

Message 2 of 11
Anonymous
Not applicable

Welcome learningthegame!

Check the terms of the loan agreement -- you may be prohibited from using your student loan $ to pay off previous debt.
Message 3 of 11
Anonymous
Not applicable