cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

statute limitation private student loans

tag
haytertots

statute limitation private student loans

I have a question I hope someone can help me with.  When I was in college I took out 2 private institutional loans through my university, one in 1997 for $1000 and one in 2000 for $7000.  I graduated in 2002, and immediately consolidated all my federally-subsidized loans.  I have been paying on them ever since, and have never missed a payment.  However, it appears my two private loans were not included in my consolidation. 

Fast forward 15 years.  In April, 2012, they appeared on my credit report as a "charge-off, 0 balance, date of charge-off 3/12/12".  DH and I are saving to buy a house in the next six months, and this just dropped my fico score from 720 to 612 overnight!  In the past 15 years, I have never received a bill from my old University, nor have they attempted to collect, nor have these been listed on my credit report before.  In short, I had no idea these were not consolidated and were still outstanding.

I looked at my promisory notes, and there is no federal guarantee on these loans.  I also checked with the National Student Loan Database, and they are not listed in my file.

My questions, then are several:

1.  If the loans are truly private, aren't they subject to a state's regular statute of limitations for loans, and therefore past the date which they can report to my credit report?

2.  If I have had no activity on these loans for 15 years, and thereoretically defaulted 10 years ago, why are they listing the date of activity as "3/12/12"?  This in effect puts these charge-offs on my credit report until 2019. 

3.  I would like to dispute these.  Does anyone have advice as to the best method?