Established Member
eagle1gator

Re: February check-in thread - how are you doing?

So this credit thing really has me frustrated... I have been out of BK7 for a year. I have established 8 credit lines : Cap 1 secured $1k, Orchard $400, Credit 1 $500, Firestone $1200, FingerHut $600, Matrix Discover $300, GE Chevron $300, and a car loan that I had for 11 months but sold due to interest of 30%. My FICO score is a 584 and my EQ from the Equifax site is 565. WHat can I do to get the ball rolling toward higher scores and better rates?? Any help please!!

Starting Score: 554
Current Score: 584
Goal Score: 720

Take the myFICO Fitness Challenge

Gettingthere123

Hello this is great I think I signed up but don't see an icon to start a post :smileyembarrassed:.  Anyway, I have been working on my financial goals since Feb 2011, I finally realized I needed to focus or I was not going to reach my goals of home ownership ( I could get a home, just not what I wanted).  I also need a car and even with that I realize I need to save more money and maybe even buy a 2-3 year old used car (pay cash)

Well my goal of government employment has happened even with budget cuts I am employed and before 1 March I was able to use my payroll to put to payments.  I erased $110,000 in exactly 1 year of employment and have less than $6K left in debt.

So now I am focusing on getting debt free (in preparation) for the best loan rates for my new mortgage (end of 2014; I am planning on saving for down payment or I may use my VA options.  In addition, I need a car and I want to go to Culinary school again using VA Tuition assistance.