cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Take the myFICO Fitness Challenge 2014!

tag
drift3r

Re: Take the myFICO Fitness Challenge 2014!

In college I decided that I wanted to seeThe World, and I did it on my credit cards. I graduated 6 years ago with 3 completely maxed out credit cards ($16,000 total) and a $23,000 car loan. I made the minimum payments on all of it for 4 years while I continued to live the high life on my new salary. I had my reality check when I decided I wanted to buy a house. I had never made a late payment so I figured my score would be pretty good but my score was 619 due to high utilization. The lender suggested I take action and pay down my debt before jumping into a mortgage. 

I set up an incredibly strict budget and paid down all 3 cards to less than 50% of their original balances in less than a year months. That gave my score a nice bump up to 680. I took the remaining credit card balances and rolled them into a term loan ($8,000 balance) and I saw my score take another nice jump up to 720. I now had $0 credit card debt but still needed to tackle my new term loan. I paid off the term loan in October of 2013 and decided now that my debt is under control I was ready to apply for a mortgage. The lender pulled my score in November 2013 and it was 753! Wooohoo!! Since then, I found my dream home, my new high credit score made the underwriting process so easy, and I am happy to report that I will be closing on my first home next week Wednesday. My goal for 2014 is to tackle the remainder of my car loan (still has a $5,000 balance) and have no debt except for the mortgage. I would also like to save up enough cash to put a deck on my new house. :-)  

My Scores as of May 20, 2015
Experian - 757
Trans - 769
Equifax - 754

Message 61 of 488
bethany
Valued Member

Your FICO® score has gone up to 656 on January 17, 2014.

Starting Score 2012: 484 Starting Score 2013: 566 Starting Score 2014: 650
Current Score: 660