cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Take the myFICO Fitness Challenge for 2012!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Take the FICO Fitness Challenge for 2012!

Newbie here.... Noticed the challenge and decided to plant the flag.

History: Lost my job in Oct'06 and used severance to start a small business, which is still running. At the time, my wife and I were a million dollars in debt that included a $775K mortgage, toys, autos and a few credit cards. After four years of making just the house payment, we decided that enough was enough and we were throwing good money towards a lost cause. We subsequently filed for bankruptcy in 2010 and discharged in July that same year. We have been renting a house for the last two years and other than an inquiry to change credit card processors, I haven't pursued any credit until recently.

Current: Three months ago I applied to Capital one and was approved for $1000 (unsecured) line of credit. My current scores are Eq 675, Ex 662 and TU 632. I'm looking for a 2nd card and don't even care if it's secured, however, I'm reluctant to have an inquiry and then be declined

Future: As a Navy veteran, my objective here is to use the VA loan and purchase a new home early next year so we've established a goal of +700 by March of 2013. My wife's scores are quite a bit lower as she had a few things left in her name post BK. Mortage is complicated as I need her income and we need my VA. I've assembled a group of professionals into a little team including a real estate agent with whom we've purchased homes from in the past. A lender that was recommended by the agent and a credit repair company that was recommended by the lender.