cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Take the myFICO Fitness Challenge for 2013!

tag
unc0mm0n1
Established Contributor

Re: Take the myFICO Fitness Challenge for 2013!

Hi all. I'm a former military law student who is trying to increase my credit score after a few bad choices as a young adult.  The good thing is the only debt I have is an $8500 school loan which is current and should be paid off this summer  and about 4 credit cards with $10,500 worth of available credit. My goal is to have only one more inquiry (NFCU card) until next year. Keep my util under 7% and increase my credit score to 720 on all three reports by the end of the year.  I hope we all reach our goals! 

Last App March 23, 2015. Gardening until November 25, 2015
Current Score: 766 EX 734 EQ 780 TU 6/30/2015Starting Score/Goal Score: 580s/780s across the board
Message 411 of 735
tirado126
Contributor

Hi,

I'm trying to become a first time homebuyer this summer.

Since Jan 2013 I've paid off all of my collections (except one car repossession). Many of the collection accounts were deleted after I disputed them, only 3 remain on my report as Paid in full as of Mar 2013.  I opened 3 credit cards last year...Capital one (CL $500), Premier (CL $300) and Matrix (CL $300). They are all currently as of Mar 2013 under 5% utilization.

I have money saved for a down payment hopefully with an FHA loan, but am having trouble reaching the credit score minimum of 640. The FICO EQ is currently 596 and the wells fargo vantage score is 624. Don't know where to go from here (i.e. open a secure cc with a high CL? open a personal loan to diversify accounts?)

Hoping to learn from others in the forum and go from there.

Thanks.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Starting Score: EQ 542, TU 503, EX 580 (all lender pulled 06/07/11)
Current Score: EQ 649, TU 722, EX 654 (pulled Dec 2013)
Goal Score: 700 club for all 3 agencies!