Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

A question for the FICO wise...

tag
billyboo
Established Member

A question for the FICO wise...

My wife has a FICO score of 0 (Despite being an authorized user on my Chase Visa)

She has no credit history good or bad.

This year she started a PT job.

What steps would you recommend to building a solid score for a total Newbie? 

Thank you!

Smiley Happy

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
RobertEG
Legendary Contributor

Re: A question for the FICO wise...

My view....

The AU status will, once it kicks in, give her a credit score of appox the same as yours, as your CRs will be almost identical.

That should assist in getting new credit from creditors who dont do a manual review of her CR, and rely only on pure FICO score.

However, a FICO score built only on an AU status has, in my opinion, definite drawbacks.  When she applies for new credit, if the creditor does a manual review of her CR, they may discount her FICO score as not being truly representative of her own, personal risk.  So I would initially avoid going for the high CL cards, and just trying to sneak in based on your score.

She needs, as a basic building block, multiple revolving accounts, as a large chunk of FICO scoring is built on assessment of use of discretionary, revolving credit.

I would start with a small CL bank card, such as maybe HSBC, which will issue bank cards at low limits without intense CR review.  Build a couple of those, and the foundatiion is layed for her own history.  I would do some investigating before applying to be pretty sure of approval, as she does not want to show a lot of new inquiries that might raise a manual review and reveal that her score is AU-based.

Message 2 of 8
pizzadude
Credit Mentor

+1 to Robert's advice.   Also it takes 6 months of credit history reporting before you can generate a FICO score.

March2010 FICO® ~ 695 TU, 653 EQ, 697 EX
Message 3 of 8
billyboo
Established Member