cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Advice for college student (Best timing for credit card payment)

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Advice for college student (Best timing for credit card payment)

Hi everyone, 

This is my first post on myFico, although I've been a fly on the wall for a while now.  I am a 22-yr old college student and the excited new owner of a Chase Sapphire Reserve card.  I have already reached the $4,000-within-3-months sign-up bonus, because I used the card to pay for my Spring college tuition.  My CSR credit line is just over $27,000, which means my current utilization on this card is around 15%.  My other credit cards have a total balance of around $800/$5,600 (approx. 14%).  My question for the forum is:  would it better for my credit score if I paid off the CSR balance in full before the first closing date, or would it be better if I left a balance at first and then paid it off during the second billing cycle? 

Even though I got the CSR in mid-Nov., my first closing date isn't until Jan. 11, and I don't see any indication of a minimum payment due in January.  I am able to pay off 100% of the CSR balance before Jan. 11, but I would like some advice as to whether I should.  Being a brand new Chase customer, I would like to demonstrate --- both to Chase and to credit bureaus --- that I am capable of paying off large balances.  My fear is that, if I paid off all my Spring tuition early, Chase would report a 0% utilization for my first billing cycle (right?) ... Do you think my score/repore with Chase would benefit more from carrying a balance? 

My hope is to apply for the Chase Ritz-Carlton Rewards card in May/June 2018.  Between now and then, I am trying to establish the best reputation with Chase as I can, so I can maximize my chances of being approved for it. 

Any advice is much appreciated!  I look forward to being a more active member on here...

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
SouthJamaica
Mega Contributor