Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Advice regarding 2 Charge-Off Accounts

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Advice regarding 2 Charge-Off Accounts

Hi all,

I'm a newbie to the forum. I've found a lot of helpful information reading through the forum threads this morning and I thought I'd ask for a little advice. My situation is that I ran into some financial problems a few years back and had to let 2 credit cards slide. These accounts have since been charged off and are now with 2 separate collection agencies. I only receive calls/letters from one of the CA's (they handle just 1 of the accounts). The accounts show the Date of Last Activity as 6/2004 and 1/2005. I am in NC so the SOL on these accounts in 3 years so I believe I am still liable to be sued for the balance of both accounts...even though I've not received anything along these lines as of yet.

I know these 2 accounts are damaging to my credit (even though I have other currently open accounts that are in perfect standing and all other accounts in my history are perfect as well) but are they worth trying to resolve? This is not the best time as I am losing my job (after 8 years) as a result of company downsizing at the end of this month. The good news is that I am getting a pretty decent severance package. Assuming I can land a new job in the next few months, I was debating trying to use some of my severance package money to resolve these charge off accounts by negotiating a payoff. The balances for each are around $8K (total of about $16K) so unless they will take less than $5K for both ($2500 each), I probably can only afford to take care of 1 account. I can work on the other account down the road once I get back on my feet and get some money saved up. Reading through these forums this morning, it seems it may not be worth it to try and settle these collection accounts as it may actually hurt my score. Did I read some of the info on here correctly?