Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Anything of this worth disputing?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Anything of this worth disputing?

I'm pretty new at this, and just purchased all 3 FICO scores from this site.  Considering how new my credit is, the scores are pretty good (b/w 703-729).  Reading over my 3 credit reports, though, a few things surprised me.  I'm just hoping somebody can explain what's going on, and in a couple cases, tell me if there's anything worth disputing here.

1.  When I was in college, I was half-tricked into filling out a credit card application for 2 free pizzas.  I figured that I'd just get signed up for junk mail, and if they sent me a card offer, I'd just throw it away.  That's what I did.  Never opened the thing.  Never spent a dime.  Now that card shows up on all three of my credit reports.  Funny thing is, though, is that it's my oldest "card", and therefore I think it makes it look like I have a longer credit history than I really do.  Could it possibly be helping me?

One report describes this card as "closed" and "paid or paying as agreed".

Another report describes it as "paid account / zero balance" and "pays account as agreed".

The third report only says "account paid satisfactorily".  

What's my best course of action on this?

2.  I always thought once you closed a credit card, it would no longer show up in your credit history.  Is this incorrect?  A (secured) card I had open from May 2006 - Feb 2008 is still showing up in 2 of my reports.  Both reports list it as closed.  The third report doesn't list the card at all.  Is this affecting the scores in these two reports in a good/bad way?  Or not at all?  Suggestions?