cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Authorized Users and Credit Scoring?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Authorized Users and Credit Scoring?

I was hoping this would be the best place to get the most accurate and true response. Can someone help us please?

Message 21 of 54
agforfree5
Contributor

BUMP

Message 22 of 54
llecs
Moderator Emeritus

@Anonymous wrote:

Hello

I have a similar question about adding authorized users to an account. This is my first time doing this. I have tried to find answers online and even asked credit cards directly and have been given contradicting answers.

I, today, just added an authorized user to an Old Navy Visa credit card. I was told by a representative that the information from this credit card would be reflected on the authorized users credit report. When I asked how this could happen when they were only given a name, the person could not answer my questions so she transferred me to a supervisor. The supervisor then told me that as of 2011, account/credit card information IS NOT reflected on an authorized user's credit report. So, which is true?

I am hoping to assist in building the authorized user's credit score. I will not allow them access to the card, but I will be monitoring (approving) purchases and making sure payments are made on time.

I also read somewhere that whether or not account information is reported to the AU's credit report is up to the credit card peoples.

Can someone help me understand? If I am not able to help their credit score, I have no reason to have them as an authorized user. Thank you in advance for your help!

YMMV on the CC. Some report on one, two, or three of the CRAs, and some not at all. It depends on the creditor.