cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best course of action for lower than would like score?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Best course of action for lower than would like score?

Hi,
I am new to the game.  Just got my Fico score, much lower than I would like.  Lets just say that I have made some mistakes in the past (including late payments).  I am working to correct that now.  I have around 9,000 in credit card debt I am working on paying off as well.  When I did the score simulator, it said if I paid everything off in the next 24 months, my score jumps significantly.  I will be getting some addiontional money soon and I was planning on paying it all off at that time.  However, should I pay a portion off a little bit at a time?  What looks better-paying it all off at the same time or paying a portion over time?

Any advice is greatly appreciated!
Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Best course of action for lower than would like score?

Hi girl. Welcome to the forum. There's a wealth of information here for you to help you with your credit needs.

I was not in a position to pay all my cc's down to reasonable levels all at once. It took me about 3 months. But when I did, my scores zoomed up from 521 to 671, over a 5 month period.
Message 2 of 6
Anonymous
Not applicable

I would say it doesn't matter whether you break up the payments or pay it in a lump sum.  As soon as they creditors report your balance, you're going to see a huge boost.  You'll see a boost no matter how you attack your debt.  Over time, or immediately.  You'll get the same result, in my opinion.
Message 3 of 6
Anonymous
Not applicable

The only reason I might recommend to pay in big chucks instead of all at once is if you have had high UTL for a while and might be subject to a CLD -

@Anonymous wrote: