Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CC Utilization Question

tag
ChiAndruw

CC Utilization Question

Hi.

First post....be kind. 

I'm new to credit, at least by lenders' eyes.  I have a Citi $4000 CL (6 month ann is this Thursday/$1900 Bal {0% int thru 2013}), Discover More $2000 CL (6 month ann is Dec), Bill Me Later $1000 (4 months old/$500 bal) , & a personal loan of $1500 (2 months old but half paid ready).

While I used to think that paying my monthy payment (I always pay more than the min) was enough, that clearly is not the case from reading posts. 

My question:  If I use my card (Discover More) and use 25-30% monthly (by putting bills, food, gas, etc on it) and PIF, this actually hurts my FICO b/c I go over 9% utilization on the card?  I PIF before the statement cuts.  I am confused whether the utilization is pre post statement cutting.  Thanks.

Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: CC Utilization Question

From what I understand for most cards the balance on the statement date is what is used to calculate utilization. It doesn't matter what you do before or after that, you can charge as much as you want but the balance due on your statement is what is used for your official utilization for the month.

Most people like to make a payment about 4 or 5 days before the statement cuts, but not PIF just to pay the balance down to report 5-9%, then after the statement cuts then they PIF the rest to avoid interest.

Message 2 of 4
RobertEG
Legendary Contributor

Welcome to the site!