cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Closing Old CC Accounts

tag
Crisco20

Closing Old CC Accounts

I have been rebuilding my credit for a couple of years now, and i currently have seven (7) open CC accounts in good standing.  Three (3) of the seven have an annual fee associated with them, and i would like to close these accounts.  Unfortunately, those three are also the accounts i have had the longest.  I am worried it will hurt my overall score if i close these accounts because they have the longest history.  The also have the highest available credit limit compared to my new CC accounts which I opened because of lower interest rates and no annual fees.  The availability of these new accounts can be attributed to my credit score increasing, and i don't want to go backwards.  Any advice would be appreciated. Smiley Happy
Message 1 of 3
2 REPLIES 2
BabyBlue
New Contributor

Re: Closing Old CC Accounts

Maybe instead of closing the accounts you will consider trying to have the fees waived? I don't think they will consider waiving the fees permanently, but it is worth the shot.

I am not sure what bank issued the cards w/ the annual fees, but the other option would be to do a product change to another card without annual fee w/ the same bank. This way you would keep your account history and get rid of the annual fee. You could even get a better interest rate, depending on the credit card issuer's offers and your scores.
Message 2 of 3
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Closing Old CC Accounts

Agreed. Try and upgrade to a non fee card with same bank to keep CLs. Anyways that is pretty much what you loose when you close CCs.