Credit Score and closing a credit card

Currently I hold 3 credit cards and 1 student loan:

Capital One Platinum

- Credit Limit: $3000 - APR: 17.90% - Annual Fee: $45 - Card Holder Since 2008

Best Buy Store Card (Store use only)

- Credit Limit: $1000 - APR: 24.27% - Annual Fee: $0 - Card Holder Since 2009

Amazon.com Reward Visa (Chase)

- Credit Limit: $700 - APR: 18.27% - Annual Fee: $0 - Card Holder Since 2011

For my student loan, I graduated last year (still looking for a job pertainign to my degree. I do have a full time job) and the loan is currently less than $7500.

Last time I got my score looked at last year, it was at 705.

Now a days I don't carry a balance on my cards and pay any amount I have at the end of the month. I keep all 3 credit cards in use and pay them off as I should.

The card I want to close is my Capital One Platinum card. It was my first credit card upon starting college to build my credit. I didn't know much back then. Had I known better, I probably wouldn't have open a Capital One card or the Best Buy Store Card. It being my oldest card, with the highest credit limit. Is it a bad idea to close it? I know it will hurt my score and will be with me for 7 or so years. But is it a good idea to just close it now before mores has passed where it will hurt me to close it later?

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
Revelate
Moderator Emeritus

Re: Credit Score and closing a credit card

Welcome to the forums!

Why do you want to close the card?  Looking at your setup it's currently one of your best tradelines and more than 50% of your aggregate credit limit: granted that doesn't matter as utilization can be managed in other ways and the tradeline will stay on for roughly 10 years actually after you close it; however, there's no penalty for keeping it open longer - longer tradelines are better.