Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Credit Scoring 101 - START HERE!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Credit Scoring 101

Hi,
I tried to get my credit report and score from TransUnion today but they said that they don't have enough information on my file. What do I need to do to see if I have a credit score or to build one. I've been living in the country for the past 2 years and I don't really know anybody that I could ask to add me on their accounts. Also, when you first start to build a score around what number do you start at: 300 or zero? Please respond. Kind regards.
Stephanie
Message 11 of 272
OneMortgageGuy
Regular Contributor

I'm a loan officer and I'm going to send everyone to this blog. I think you hit the nail right on the head!
Message 12 of 272
RobertEG
Legendary Contributor

Re: Credit Scoring 101 - START HERE!

For those wanting an independent and in-debt analysis of credit reports, including simulations and basic concerns, the best analysis I have found is the following 2004 report by the Federal Reserve Board.... must reading!

www.federalreserve.gov/pubs/bulletin/2004/summer04_credit.pdf

Message 13 of 272
Anonymous
Not applicable

Tuscani,

This was great information because transunions always baffles me and I was unware that there was another site for transunion FICO scores...learn something knew everyday.Smiley Happy
Message 14 of 272
Anonymous
Not applicable

Starting apply dept. store credit cards and buy something low priced items and pay it on time.
Then use dept. store credit cards to apply bank credit cards (Visa, Master Card, AE, Discover), and pay them on time...
And you have built your own credit history along the road...
It depends on your income(credit line) vs debts to determine your credit score, but each credit system pull out the different score from the same source...like...
WaMu get credit score from TransUnion for me...710
American Express get credit score from TransUnion for me...733