Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Credit Scoring 101 - START HERE!

tag
dfsdf
New Visitor

Re: Credit Scoring 101 - START HERE!

Already had my question answered upon joining myFico.  Was wondering if I should close an account if I don't use it anymore.  Guess I'll keep it open.  Thanks for the help.

-RD

Message 251 of 272
OptimalFICO
Valued Member

Re: Credit Scoring 101

@creditimproved40points wrote:

Greetings, and though I am quite new to the whole credit thing, I would like to add some things.  I am restoring my credit.  I first started by getting a free copy of my credit reports from all three bureaus through 1-877-FAC-TACT.  This is a federally mandated program for those worried about their scores.  They are free for the first time, and once per year thereafter.  Any more throughout the year must be paid for.  Afterwards, I poured through my reports and disputed everything down to even disputing misspelled names from my credit report (this could be considered identity theft if you yourself did not initiate the account).  I then started to pay down all my past charged off accounts that have been reporting every month.  The old accounts that have not been reporting...just leave them alone.  Then I got one loan for 440. and one secured card for 200.   Now I just have to wait for those to start affecting my credit score.  I went from a fico score in Mar 01 of 541 to a score today of 589.

I think it's worth cautioning that people should NOT obtain their free annual credit reports through the above number, it may be an "imposter site." DO NOT USE 800-FAC-TACT!

According to the FTC, ONLY ONE website is authorized to fill orders for the free annual credit report you are entitled to under law — annualcreditreport.com. Their phone number is 1-877-322-8228.

Message 252 of 272
Revelate
Moderator Emeritus

@OptimalFICO wrote: