Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Credit Utilization

tag
gh17
Frequent Contributor

Credit Utilization

I have always understood that it's best to leave some of your balance on the credit card until the statement comes out, but to leave this under 10%.  I usually pay my credit cards off via online transfers a few times per month but leave some on until the statement comes before I pay that off.

Until very recently, my main credit card only had $1000 limit, and I would always keep somewhere from $20 to $90 to pay after the statement came.  On Credit Karma, I had an A grade in the credit card utilization category.

Recently I was approved for another credit card, and this one has a $4000 limit.  I am a student with only a part time job for income, so I can't afford to go anywhere near that limit.  I typically charge only $150 to $400 a month, but occasionally (like last month) my balance was only around $30.  Now when I updated Credit Karma, it has given me a C in credit card utilization, saying it's 0%.  It's not that everything has a zero balance but rather that I guess it was rounding to 0% since I didn't spend much.  My question is, in a real credit score, would my score be somewhat negatively affected by having less than 1% (but greater than 0) credit card utilization?

It's not really a big deal, but I'm just curious for future reference.

BofA Cash Rewards 25,000 (2009) | Citi Double Cash 25,000 (2011) | Cap1 Quicksilver 10,000 (2013) | Discover It 31,000 (2014) | Chase Freedom 9000 (2014) | Barclaycard Rewards 25,000 (2014)

FICO: 840 Discover/Barclays/BofA TU, 869 Citi Equifax
Message 1 of 3
2 REPLIES 2
kjm79
Valued Contributor

Re: Credit Utilization

Ignore the Credit Karma score and grade.