Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Debt Limits and Your Credit Score

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Debt Limits and Your Credit Score

Hi All,

I'd like to improve my credit score and am wondering of the impact of my debts on my score.

Background:

I graduated college in 2010 with approximately 50k in student loan debt. To date, my balance now sits at a little under 32K. In total I have 9 loans that make up this 32K balance. Every loan is in good standing, and has been for the life of the loan.

The caveat to this is that some of the loans have a higher amount owed than the original balance. I'm on IBR and concentrate large monthly payments on my loans with the highest interest rates. So, some of the slightly smaller loans (in terms of interest rate) have accrued capitalized interest and now have higher balances than the original loan value. Let me reiterate, they're all in good standing and I've not missed a payment since I began the repayment period.

Question:

In factoring my debt for my score, does FICO look at only the entire debt load collectively, or do they also look at each individual loan? Since I'm in good standing and have paid off a large amount of the debt, everything looks good from that standpoint. However if they look at each individually then several of my loans may look bad since the amount owed is larger than the original amount.

I could take a month or two and an bring all the loans down to their original amount or less. I just don't know if that's actually worth doing.

Other information

Current EQ: 680

Approx Gross Income: 50K

Reason for credit score increase: Auto purchase within the next year, want best financing rate possible.

Misc.: Score may increase slightly in this time period due to two baddies falling off my report, as well as two inquiries.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
jamie123
Valued Contributor

Re: Debt Limits and Your Credit Score

Welcome to the forums!