Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Debt to credit ratio question.

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Debt to credit ratio question.

Hello. I am new to Fico forum and wanted to see if someone would be able to answer some questions and concerns I have. I have had my navy credit card for 7 months. Hardly use it. My credit limit is 2k I used $295 which would be below 20%. I got a notification from my credit monitoring from equifax and it dropped 39 points. Like WTH am I missing? Transunion dropped about 8 points not sure what experian reads but this doesn't make sense nor sound right. I am in the process of buying a house and then my score drops 39 points and I utilized below 20%. Will someone please shed some light and help me please because something is not adding up. Thanks in advance guys.

t

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
jamie123
Valued Contributor

Re: Debt to credit ratio question.

How many credit cards do you have?

If it is your only credit card, you are better off letting it report $0. There is a calculation that determines what percentage of your credit cards have a reporting balance. If you only have 1 card and it reports, you have 100% of your credit cards reporting a balance. You won't get nicked points if this number is kept under 50%. That's why you need at least 3 credit cards, but if you are house hunting it is definitely best to wait until after the house closes to get more cards.

Starting Score: EQ 653 6/21/12
Current Score: EQ 817 3/10/20 - EX 820 3/13/20 - TU 825 3/03/20
Message 2 of 6
DollyLama
Established Contributor