Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Equifax increase with no apparent reason

tag
nycfico
Regular Contributor

Equifax increase with no apparent reason

I've been micromanaging my Fico scores for about ten months.  I get several (four to seven) or so Scorewatch alerts each month on average...given I'm doing a lot of cleanup.

Until now, alerts have always coincided with some kind of change (balance increase, deletion of late payments etc).  Today, though I received a five point increase (from 619 to 624), with no corresponding change.  Anybody know how or why that might happen?  Can scores just move up or down with no other events associated?

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
Barneygirl
Frequent Contributor

Re: Equifax increase with no apparent reason

@nycfico wrote:

I've been micromanaging my Fico scores for about ten months.  I get several (four to seven) or so Scorewatch alerts each month on average...given I'm doing a lot of cleanup.

Until now, alerts have always coincided with some kind of change (balance increase, deletion of late payments etc).  Today, though I received a five point increase (from 619 to 624), with no corresponding change.  Anybody know how or why that might happen?  Can scores just move up or down with no other events associated?

LOTS of things can make small changes like that.... two that I have seen personally are...

1.  Inquiries falling outside of the 1 year mark

2.  New credit accounts that hit the 2  years mark (I saw about a 5pt increase)

Current FICO Scores: EQ749; TU732; EX733
Message 2 of 6
Slim1Der
Frequent Contributor

@nycfico wrote:

I've been doing the same as you and saw some rather strange things making my score go up and down. I actually had my EX score go UP by one point from an inquiry! But one thing I can confirm, it is good to keep your balances reporting ZERO. I had my Cap1 balance go from $8 to reporting and got a Balance Decrease alert shoing my score went up 13 points just because of that!