Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FICO 8 vs Mortgage score

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

FICO 8 vs Mortgage score

Hi,

I paid off 2 cards my fico 8 didn't change. I have 2 other revolving at 13% total. Does this mean my mortgage score didn't change either? I'm going to pull my mortgage score at the end of the month but I'm just curious.

Thanks
Anita
6 REPLIES 6
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: FICO 8 vs Mortgage score

Are you sure that your paid off cards reported already to the bureaus?

Where are you pulling your FICO8 scores from?

Message 2 of 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Yes I paid them off it's showing on my credit profile. I have a subscription with FICO. Thx
Message 3 of 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hard to make a forecast without knowing how many open credit card accounts you have total and what your highest utilization still is on any one account.

13% overall utilization is good but there isn't an obvious breakpoint reported for many until you're below 8.9% overall utilization.

In addition, 13% overall utilization could mean you are maxed out on one card but $0 or close to $0 on the rest, and the maxed out card could be keeping your scores down.

So my questions are:

1. What's the actual utilization on each card with a balance?
  2. How many total open credit card accounts are reporting (with or without balances)?
Message 4 of 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi,

I have 3 open credit cards with 0 balance. The remaining credit card has a 13% utilization.

Thx

Message 5 of 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Interesting. Usually carrying a balance on more than 1/3rd of your cards and taking it down to 1 card should have an effect on at least EQ if not all 3 bureaus.

What are your current FICO8 scores on all 3 bureaus?
Message 6 of 7
Thomas_Thumb
Senior Contributor

@Anonymous wrote:
Hi,

I have 3 open credit cards with 0 balance. The remaining credit card has a 13% utilization.

Thx