cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FICO on the mend

tag
creditmole

FICO on the mend

I have just completed a 4 yr. Debt Mgt plan. I have only closed credit accounts. 2 car paymts pay off in Oct. I was thinking about opening a secured Visa until my FICO score gets higher (currently it is 584-606) I need advice on whether this is a good move or not. I understand a new acct. would lower my score in the short term A local credit union is still reporting a Visa I have had since 1988 as being open. (they did not send me a new card at expiration) They told me on the phone that I would have to come in to see if they would reopen it. I will need to purchase a car in about 6-10 mos. and I want to get a reasonable interest rate. I want to make wise decisions going forward so informed advice is welcome
Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
marty56
Super Contributor

Re: FICO on the mend

I graduated DMP back in November.  I will asume you have no credit card debt now so util is not a problem.

What will prevent you from getting new credit and a good rate on a new autoloan is any derog information on your CR.  All DMP added to my CR was TLs saying the account was in  DMP.

I would strt with your CU and see if they will reinstate you credit card.  If not, I would apply with a CCC that was not one of the ones you had in DMP.  I would also work on any derog information on your CR since util is not a problem so the only way to raise your scores in the timeframe you want would be to see if you can GW any derog information.
1/25/2021: FICO 850 EQ 848 TU 847 EX
Message 2 of 6
Anonymous
Not applicable

I would definitely try to milk the CU card option. That card's history is very important if it is an account in good standing.

Further, a secured card is not a bad option. Diluting any bad trade lines is good and the way to do that is with carefully selected new accounts.