Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FICO's Fundamental and Irrational Flaw Causing Damage to American Graduates

tag
DukeLaw11
New Visitor

FICO's Fundamental and Irrational Flaw Causing Damage to American Graduates

I am an attorney with a decent starting income ($70,000+ working for the federal government) and very good financial sense.  I have no credit card debt, I own a home (which I rent out) and rent a condo near my job.  My expendable monthly income (i.e. after bills) is $2,000 per month.  I max out my and my wife's IRA every year and have approximately $15,000 in the bank. 

Recently, I applied for an auto loan for $13,000 with $3,000 down.  The car was through an independent dealer, but the Retail Bluebook value was $16,000.  I was NOT APPROVED for this loan!  After asking to file a complaint, I was directed to supervisor who explained that my debt load was too high.  According to him, I had no expendable income...

How could this be?  My checking account balance goes up by $2000 a month and I'm not defaulting on anything...  Does money appear out of thin air for me?   It turns out that the auto lender (a major bank), like most creditors, utilizes what I will call a "straight line credit analysis."  As such, all debt is treated essentially the same, regardless of the true nature of the debt.  In my situation, I have $270,000 in student loans.  So they were showing that my debt load was nearly $4,500 a month, and that I had NO expendable income.