Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FICO score calculation by factors

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

FICO score calculation by factors

So I am new to this thread and just started understanding FICO score and so far this is what I understood about my score. Is this how the total of 850 score calculated?

35% Payments - 297.5 Points

30% Debt - 255 Points

15% History - 127.5 Points

10% credit mix - 85 Points

10% inquiries - 85 Points

Total - 850 Points

I believe this is how FICO score is calculated overall. Now let's look at my credit score, my score right now is 745. It took me 1 and half years to get here from 533.

96% on-time payments of 35% - 285.6 

0% debt (CC paid in full, student loan $2000 left/$32000) - 255 Points 

No inquiries - 85 Points

Credit Mix (Yet to try AZEO) - 60 (3 credit cards, 1 student loan, 1 monthly rental payments)

Credit history (oldest account 4.2 years, newest 1 month, average 3.4) - 60 Points

________________________________________________________________________________________

Total - 745.6

So this is how I think my score has been calculated. The way I look at it, the only way to boost my FICO is by trying AZEO and giving a boost to credit mix by 8-12 points, which will take my score to 753-755.

So basically unless my credit report age, there is nothing I can do but sit and watch. It can take years.

Is my calculation correct or I am missing something?

8 REPLIES 8
kilroy8
Community Leader
Super Contributor

Re: FICO score calculation by factors

It is a calculation that you can never get correct, as it is a closely held secret. For example, the range is 300 to 850, which means only 550 points can be awarded in any case. 

That said, many on here have experimented a lot and have come up with some solid information, mostly around utilization, payment history, and credit mix. Search the forums and ye shall find.

Message 2 of 9
Anonymous
Not applicable