Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fico Scoring Thin File vs Previous File

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Fico Scoring Thin File vs Previous File

I'm very new to credit my file is thin just started in 2013 no previous file do you score higher overall if you have a thin file vs having a previous file as in previous credit? Because my score was in the 700's and I had no trouble getting an unsecured credit card from BofA which was my very first card out of the gate 4+ years now and they started my credit line at $800 income was about 1,000 a month from work.

7 REPLIES 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Fico Scoring Thin File vs Previous File

Thin (or thick) refers to the number of accounts one possesses on their credit report.  This factor does not necessarily correlate with the factor of time.  While in general over time people tend to pick up more accounts and thicken their file, that's not always the case.  There are examples out there of someone having 20 years of credit history, but all it is involves just 1 account, a credit card that they've had that entire time.  Conversely, there are people that have 1 year of credit history but 10 accounts on their report. 

The quick and simple answer to your question though is that all things being otherwise equal, having an aged file (longer credit history) is going to aid in higher scores than someone with short credit history.  A thicker file too relative to a thin one can have some scoring benefits as well.

Message 2 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

@Anonymous wrote: