cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help - should I get an increase in my FICO score?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Help - should I get an increase in my FICO score?

Hey everyone, I'm a newbie here and trying to rebuild my credit.

I recently went back to school and because I had student loans in the past in which I was paying on time - I submitted deferment paperwork to defer those payments until I finish school once again, That paperwork for the deferment wasn't processed correctly and my student loans were a bit late to the lender, and my score went down almost 60 pts. When I got the notification from Score Watch - I immediately went into action and got the paperwork submitted to update my credit report. I finally got that deferment paperwork submitted and approved and the bank stated that they've submitted the paperwork to be retroactive to my school date which covers the 90 days late - which helped lower my FICO score.

My problem is this, during my investigation I found 5 additional records that were all old student loans that were consolidated into my 2 current loans - they were showing 120 days late from 2004. I called the bank and after getting the standard run around, I found that I had to dispute the charges and records with EQ and they would investigate.  2 Days letter I get an email from EQ that they have resolved my dispute and deleted those 5 records with the derogatory information (120 days late for 5 records). With those records being deleted and the other 2 records being updated to current and pays on time/not late - how much of a jump in my FICO score should I expect? My score was 640 before all of this occured should I expect my score to go up from there?

Thanks

EQ 640

TU 680

Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
llecs
Moderator Emeritus

Re: Help - should I get an increase in my FICO score?

Fixing the 90 day would result in your biggest increase. Expect a return of those points.