cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How long does it take for your credit score to stabilize after buying a house?

tag
humes

How long does it take for your credit score to stabilize after buying a house?

Hi,

I have a question. I bought a house in June 2010 and at the time my credit score was around 720. I bought a new construction home and the builder financed it and then sold the mortgage to a big bank. I've been making payments to that bank since September of 2010 but I noticed on my credit report that there is activity showing the big bank as a "new account" as recently as November 2010. There are multiple entries for the builder financing as a new account and then the big bank as a new account, the most recent was in November. I also noticed that my score went down like 3 months in a row and went down to 688 before ticking back up to 695 in January and that's where it has been ever since. I noticed in the credit summary of the analysis of my credit report, it says I have numerous "hard" inquirries on my credit report and that is hurting my credit score. As far as I can tell, all of that is related to buying the house and them selling the mortage and checking my credit. I didn't apply for any new loans or credit cards in that time period.

How long does it generally take for your score to stabilize after buying a house? This was the first time I had checked my score this year and I was a little surprised. 

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
llecs
Moderator Emeritus

Re: How long does it take for your credit score to stabilize after buying a house?

IME, the new credit ding has been temporary with most of the points returning within 6 months from the "opened date" and the rest by a year, all else being equal (e.g. no new accounts since, same utilization, AAoA bounces back if lowered, nothing falls off, etc.).