cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How many CCs is considered Optimal for FICO Scoring?

tag
wfreeman3
New Contributor

Re: How many CCs is considered Optimal for FICO Scoring?

I can tell you that I had 4.  Cancelled one and added 2.  No score change whatsoever.

TU - 687
EX - 612
EQ- 632

Starting Score: 766
Current Score: 766
Goal Score: 800

Take the FICO Fitness Challenge
Message 11 of 146
Anonymous
Not applicable

The ones dropping off are computer generated items from my credit union that I have been doing business with for about 14 years.  They admit that these are errors and are removing them.  According to them, any little mis-step is setting up a payment can cause this.  (the CU ast manager and I go back 14 years!) 
Message 12 of 146
Anonymous
Not applicable

I am down to 10 cards-
8 Visa/MC/Amex
1 Amex charge
1 Store-

A year ago I had 3 cards-
Message 13 of 146
fused
Moderator Emeritus

pushedtoofar wrote:
I have 2 majors with 2500/3800 CLs.  Is this enough????

I believe in keeping it simple! If I could do it all over again, this what I would have done:

2-3 Visa or MC
1 Amex or Discover
1 store or gas card

My sister-in-law has a thin file and her scores are in the low 800's. This is all she has:

1 Visa 15% util
1 Citi Sears card 0% util
1 LOC (OD protection) $0 bal
1 paid auto; clean
1 consumer finance loan paid; clean

Her credit history length is 11 years with an average-age not far away. Simple can work!

Message 14 of 146
RobertEG
Legendary Contributor

Well, I will throw my fish into the pond.  It is not the number of CC's that you have, it is rather how you manage them.
FICO looks first at overall %util, which has nothing to do with the number of cards you have, but is the most important factor.  But the thrust of this thread is not about overall %util, but rather upon the effect of having many cards.  So I will regress to the discusssion of having bucho cards, vs. only a few.