cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I disputed and my credit score dropped!??! WHAT?????????

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

I disputed and my credit score dropped!??! WHAT?????????

So I have been working on rebuilding my credit for about 6 months now and have raised my score almost 80 points since the beginning of this.

Yesterday, I sent an online dispute for a collections account that I don't own and is four years old.  Today I got a score alert and my score dropped 19 points?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?  When I check the dispute status it shows in process.  So does anybody understand this???  Honestly has me a little sick to my stomach. 

The score alert states that a dispute has been initiated but I do not understand how this could effect my score....I mean the account is still there and the amount is the same and the dispute is in progress.

We are about to buy a house and 19 points can really touch my interest rate!

Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
llecs
Moderator Emeritus

Re: I disputed and my credit score dropped!??! WHAT?????????

Welcome to the forums!

What kind of collection is it? An OC? A CA? You mentioned "score alert". Is the alert from ScoreWatch?

I'd suggest not disputing. Many lenders will turn down a loan if a dispute is showing.

Message 2 of 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

Thanks for the welcome.

It was a collection from Verizon Wireless.  I left the country to work for a year.  Cancelled my account and pay the early term fee.  A year later, came back to the states and got another account with verizon (which i still have).  So I couldn't figure out what this charge was.  On suggestion of a friend he said to dispute it.  In retrospect, if I'd know that it would drop my score, I would have just paid it and been done.  It is for 1200 dollars so it isn't so much the money I was just not wanting to pay for something I felt I did not owe.

And the score alert was from score watch from myfico.

Message 3 of 10
llecs
Moderator Emeritus