Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

In Need of Help

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

In Need of Help

Good evening!  I am new to trying to understand the FICO system and how to effectively raise my score.  I have a balloon payment on my mortage due in February and I need to refinance this.  My current FICO score is 595 and I need to reach 640 by roughly November 1 of this year.  I don't quite understand why my FICO score is so low.  I have a mortage that I have never been late on.  I had a second mortage that I was also never late on.  I just paid this off a couple of weeks ago (one year early).  How much rise in my score can I expect from this payoff once it's reported?  I have no credit cards.  I have a vehicle payment.  Balance is $6000.00 - no late payments.  The only derogatory things on my report are two judgements for medical bills (resulting from an automobile accident) that were turned over and reported prior to settlement which just occurred this week.  I'll be paying the two judements in full and will still have $20,000.00 to work with to hopefully improve my credit score.  Would it help to pay the auto loan in full?

I am baffled by the fact that I've made mortgage/2nd mortgage payments faithfully and timely and cannot obtain refinancing due to a low FICO score and am facing losing my home.  Did the two judgements decimate my score to this degree?  Also, I applied to Sallie Mae last week for a student loan and was turned down over this FICO score.  How much did this inquiry lower my score?

In a nut shell,  how much will the payoff on the second mortage and paying off the auto loan and the two judgments raise my score in 4 months time?  What else can I do to gain the 45 needed points by November 1?  Is it possible? 

I'd greatly appreciate any help or advice you could offer and I apologize for my "green" questions.

Message 1 of 12
11 REPLIES 11
jeffriesde
Valued Member

Re: In Need of Help