Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

In need of Help Understanding FICO Scores

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

In need of Help Understanding FICO Scores

Hello!

I'm completely new to credit lines and such. I never knew how hard it was going to be to try to build credit from scratch after High School. I was foolish and applied for 5 major credit card companies such as Chase, Discover, etc. and was denied. I was later accepted to a Retail credit card. How long does it take to use this store credit card to actually build credit then apply for a credit card that can be used else were other then a retail store, such as Chase Freedom. I have been banking with chase for almost a year and am interested in staying with them. What should I do to build my credit faster. I only have a retail store credit card. How long does it take for a retail card to actually build my credit because I have a "thin credit score" 

Thank you

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: In need of Help Understanding FICO Scores

Usually 6-8 months to let the card mature and age the inquiries. This should give you a Fico score as well if this is your first credit card. Have you thought about a secured card?

Message 2 of 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

I have, however, I only usually bank with Chase and they don't have a secured credit card. Is there a secured card that wouldn't require a $400 security deposit? I guess everyone would wouldn't it. 

Message 3 of 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

Checkout Bank of America. I think they do like a $99/$500...$99 deposit will get you a $500 limit, YMMV. Also try Capital One (they might be easier, but not sure).

Message 4 of 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

Would Bank of America accept someone with no credit score? I'd be fine to do the 99/500 but would I get accepted with no credit summary?
Message 5 of 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

Not sure...perhaps someone else could chime in.

Message 6 of 9
Themanwhocan
Senior Contributor

@Anonymous wrote: