Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Interpreting Your FICO Score

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Interpreting Your FICO Score

I am a student (20 years old) and has a credit score of 740. Is this a good score at this point of my life?

Message 71 of 109
MarineVietVet
Moderator Emeritus

@Anonymous wrote:

I am a student (20 years old) and has a credit score of 740. Is this a good score at this point of my life?

Hello and welcome to the forums.

May I ask where you bought this score? There are many places these days who will sell you a "credit score" but it's not a true FICO score. A few examples are

freecreditreport.com,

freescore.com,

experian.com,

transunion.com.

These sites and others are more than happy to sell you what we call around here "FAKO" scores.

From a BK years ago to:
EX - 9/09 pulled by lender 802
EQ - 7/06-663, 3/10-800
TU - 8/10-772
You can do the same thing with hard work

Message 72 of 109
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi,

I actually just got this score from this very website. Last year (when I was 19), Bank of America gave me a 15 day- free trial credit report for three major credit reporters. All three gave me a score between 704-720. I guess, my credit score when up 20 points within a year. I'm not sure if that's even good. I'm totally new at this and confused. 

Message 73 of 109
MarineVietVet
Moderator Emeritus

@Anonymous wrote:

Hi,

I actually just got this score from this very website. Last year (when I was 19), Bank of America gave me a 15 day- free trial credit report for three major credit reporters. All three gave me a score between 704-720. I guess, my credit score when up 20 points within a year. I'm not sure if that's even good. I'm totally new at this and confused. 

That 3-in-1 offer from BoA has the FAKO scores I was talking about but the reports themselves are accurate from what I understand.