cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Just getting started and already so confused!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Just getting started and already so confused!

Greetings friends,

I am just getting started in pulling up my socks and diving into repairing my damaged credit and finances. After several years of illness, grad school and downright irresponsibility, I am taking over the reigns and educating myself. You all inspire me!

My first step was to get my credit scores. I did that first through MyFICO with just Equifax, which reported I had a credit score of 640. I then went to what I thought was Experian directly to get a 3-way credit report from all Equifax, Experian and Trans Union. The scores I got there were 666, 666, 667. I printed this report out and it turns out I bought this report from Experian through freecreditreport.com (a part of Experian they say) 

Ugh!! I am already confused and I haven’t even gotten started! Which credit score is true? How can there be such a discrepancy? Who/what can I trust?

Advice and thoughts so very welcome.

Many thanks, Lucy

Message 1 of 8
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Just getting started and already so confused!

Well, due some interweb sluething, I think I already got my answer- anything from freecreditreport.com is a FAKO. Not a true FICO (I am slowly learning here) so really, I can just disregard right?

It sounds like I can either get a true FICO from Equifax or Transunion and that is it really.

Sadness, I just lost $24 for nothing Smiley Sad

Message 2 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Well, due some interweb sluething, I think I already got my answer- anything from freecreditreport.com is a FAKO. Not a true FICO (I am slowly learning here) so really, I can just disregard right?

It sounds like I can either get a true FICO from Equifax or Transunion and that is it really.

Sadness, I just lost $24 for nothing Smiley Sad

Message 2 of 8