Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Just got my social and a bad surprise

tag
AlwaysUp
Established Member

Just got my social and a bad surprise

Hi,

So I'm an international student. I'm 20. I just got my SSN today. I have a Wells Fargo Secured CC with a $1000 limit. The card is 7 months old. I was very excited this morning when I got my social. My State Farm agent told me that I was pre-approved for a CC and as soon as I get my social, they'll fill out the application for me. I contacted him today, he submitted the application and then got back to me with a very bad surprise. He told me that my application was denied because I have an account on collection. I went to check my scores online and I found 2 accounts that have been reporting even though I didn't have a social (They used first, last name, BOD and address). It was my CC with WF and a collection acccount for $572 from T-Mobile. I nevever used T-Mobile before, it wasn't me.

I filed a police report for identity theft and I'm gonna submit disputes with all the bureaus, but I'm expecting the worst. If my dispute get denied, I'm gonna have to pay that account because I don't want more problems. My question is :

How bad it will look if I pay the CC account? What score am I gonna start with? If the collection is removed, and I'll only have my CC on good standing, what is the score I should expect?

If I don't pay the account, how bad this baddie would impact my score? I couldn't get a score today since I just got my social, they said it takes up to a month...

I'm really frustrated specially when I was gonna apply for a auto loan in June..

Thank you for your answers and sorry for my bad grammar.

Message 1 of 25
24 REPLIES 24
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Just got my social and a bad surprise

Couple of things: