cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Low 700s and I can't get credit?!?!

tag
Geppy

Low 700s and I can't get credit?!?!

Hi everyone!  I'm a bit perplexed here. My credit reports from all three bureaus fall between 716-725.  I discovered this in September of this year when I decided to start being more aware of my credit.  

My initial reaction to this was complete surprise.  I went through bankruptcy in 2006, I have an unpaid collection I've been carrying since 2007, and a public record (small claims court judgement) from 2009.  How the heck is my credit in the 700s at all? It's hard to believe.

Furthermore, in September, armed with this new knowledge that my credit score is much higher than I expected, I called and applied for a credit increase on my Chase card that has a limit of $1,700.  I was rejected... **bleep**?!?!?

If my credit score is truly in the 700s, why was I rejected for a limit increase? I've paid my bills ontime for years. Now I'm left truly wondering if my reports are accurately depicting my real credit score. I'd love to apply (and receive) a card that would provide me the ability to earn miles, points, cash back, etc. but now I'm worried about pinging my credit and getting rejected.

Any help/insight is much appreciated.

Thanks!

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
Shogun
Moderator Emeritus

Re: Low 700s and I can't get credit?!?!

I guess the obvious question is "Where did you get that score from"?  There are a ton of FAKOs out there, and they can be over 200 points off your actual FICO score.

Starting Score: 504
July 2013 score:
EQ FICO 819, TU08 778, EX "806 lender pull 07/26/2013
Goal Score: All Scores 760+, Newest goal 800+
Take the myFICO Fitness Challenge

Current scores after adding $81K in CLs and 2 new cars since July 2013
EQ:809 TU 777 EX 790 Now it's just garden time!

June 2017 update: All scores over 820, just pure gardening now.
Message 2 of 7
Geppy