cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My age, my FICO score, and where it's heading...

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

My age, my FICO score, and where it's heading...

So I'm 19, I'm a college student and I work fulltime. I started building credit in July of 2006. I started when I was 18, because I'd like to be able to have the highest credit score possible before I finance a car and move out. And I figured I had a steady job, I'm still at home, and why not build credit early?

So far, I've had 3 seperate bills each month, and have made every payment on time and 85% of the time been they've more then the minimum payment.

Currently, my FICO score is 675. Is this a good credit score for my age? Right now my total balances from the different creditors adds up to be around $800, so it will all be paid off by June.

Also, by the time they're paid off, is their a chance my credit score can surpase the 700 mark? I'd really like to be around 725 or so when I do finance a car, but I'm not sure if that can happen that soon.

Is their a FICO score I can expect once I do have that paid off? Thanks!
Message 1 of 3
2 REPLIES 2
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: My age, my FICO score, and where it's heading...

FICO is an unpredictable beast, but really I don't think you have anything to worry about. Your best strategy for keeping FICO well-fed and happy is:

1) Have credit cards, but keep just enough of a balance to get a bill each month. If you're using more than 25% of your available credit on any one card, make paying that down a priority.

2) NEVER pay late. Automate payments if you can. I have Bank of America, and I can set up automatic payments for the minimum payment due a week before the due date, every month, forever.

3) Save money to buy that car. Finance part of it in a simple-interest loan. Pay the loan off ahead of schedule (put an extra $100 a month or so toward the principal). A paid car note looks good on FICO.