cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My score dropped by ~60 points !! Why ??

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

My score dropped by ~60 points !! Why ??

Hi guys .. So I'm a student and currently have two Credit Cards to my name: one from Bank of America (Limit: $1500 ~ about 9 months old), and one from CapitalOne (Limit: $500 ~ about 2 months old).

Up until about a week ago, my score (as reported by CapitalOne through TransUnion) was about 728. Today I checked and it's 673 !! I have no idea what caused the drop. My only guess is that 2 days ago I made a purchase totalling about $260 on my CapitalOne card, and that's the only unpaid purchase I have on it. Could this single transaction have caused my score to drop by 60 points instantly ?! I know that its a good rule to not have a utilization of more than 20% ~ 30%, but I thought a one-time 50% utilization shouldn't hurt too much. Was my assumption wrong ?

Is there a way I can undo this thing ? Maybe pay CapitalOne (even though the due date is 3 weeks away), or return the item I bought for $260 ?

The only other thing I can think of is that I use my BofA CC a lot, and spend about $700 ~ $800 per month using that. But whenever my balance for it reaches about $350 or so, I pay it. So I make about 2 payments for my BofA card every month. However I've been doing this for some months now and it never caused a problem with my score before.

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: My score dropped by ~60 points !! Why ??