Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

MyFico vs Credit Bureau Scores

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

MyFico vs Credit Bureau Scores

Hi, I am very new to this!  Can someone tell me why my MyFico.com scores are so much higher than my scores obtained from the individual credit bureaus (EQ, EX, TU)?  I am working on raising my scores to at least 650 in order to qualify for my first home loan and cannot determine which scores are most relevant. My scores are pasted below in the siganture block.  Thanks!!

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
jamie123
Valued Contributor

Re: MyFico vs Credit Bureau Scores

@Anonymous wrote:

Hi, I am very new to this!  Can someone tell me why my MyFico.com scores are so much higher than my scores obtained from the individual credit bureaus (EQ, EX, TU)?  I am working on raising my scores to at least 650 in order to qualify for my first home loan and cannot determine which scores are most relevant. My scores are pasted below in the siganture block.  Thanks!!

Well...You're really not going to like this.

The scores found here and virtually everywhere on the internet are FICO 08 models. The FICO 08 model is used by most credit card lenders.

Mortgage lenders use the FICO 04 model and they are not available for purchase anywhere that I know of. Auto loan lenders use a FICO auto enhanced version that is also not available for purchase anywhere that I know of.

Starting Score: EQ 653 6/21/12
Current Score: EQ 817 3/10/20 - EX 820 3/13/20 - TU 825 3/03/20
Message 2 of 9
mongstradamus
Super Contributor

@jamie123 wrote:

@Anonymous wrote:

Well...You're really not going to like this.

The scores found here and virtually everywhere on the internet are FICO 08 models. The FICO 08 model is used by most credit card lenders.

Mortgage lenders use the FICO 04 model and they are not available for purchase anywhere that I know of. Auto loan lenders use a FICO auto enhanced version that is also not available for purchase anywhere that I know of.